Louisiana child support | Louisiana child support enforcement (2023)

Louisiana child support | Louisiana child support enforcement (1) COVID-19 INFORMATION: Support Collectors is here to help during these difficult times. Read our full statement ›

Louisiana Child Support Enforcement Resource Center

  • Louisiana Child Support Enforcement Measures
  • Who Can Enforce Court-Ordered Child Support in Louisiana
  • Louisiana Child Support Enforcement Services Caseload Statistics
  • Interest on Missed Louisiana Child Support Payments
  • Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support
  • Statute of Limitations on Determining Paternity
  • Age of Emancipation / Age of Majority
  • Louisiana’s Guidelines for Setting Child Support Payments
  • Custody and Visitation Issues

Even if the non-custodial parent lives in another state, the law requires cooperation between states. The non-custodial parent is legally required to make regular child support payments, regardless of where they live.

Louisiana Child Support Enforcement Measures

If a non-custodial parent does not pay child support, he or she is subject to enforcement measures by the State of Louisiana to collect regular and past-due payments.

(Video) Child Support in Louisiana | The Law Office of Andrea Erwin Potter, PLC

  • Being included on Louisiana’s Delinquent Payors list, a publicly-available list of individuals who are under a legal obligation to pay child support, yet have not made a payment in the last six months.
  • Withholding of income (wages, employment bonuses, Workers’ Compensation benefits, unemployment benefits, etc.)
  • Reporting delinquent parents to credit report bureaus.
  • Driver’s, professional, and hunting and fishing licenses may be suspended or denied.
  • Passport applications may be denied by the U.S. State Department.
  • Interception of a parent’s federal and state income tax refunds, state or property tax credits, and state lottery winnings.
  • Liens may be filed against any real property or other assets.
  • A lawsuit may be filed against the non-custodial parent asking the court to enforce its order. The court may find a parent in contempt of court and possibly impose a jail sentence.

Who Can Enforce Court-Ordered Child Support in Louisiana?

Federal law requires all states to have a child support enforcement program. In Louisiana, the program is administered by the Department of Social Services, Office of Family Support, Support Enforcement Services (SES).

Full Time Equiv. Staff825
Total Caseload281,747

1 U.S. Office of Child Support Enforcement, Boxscores for FY 2005

Interest on Missed Louisiana Child Support Payments

The State of Louisiana does not currently allow for interest to be charged on missed payments or retroactive support.

(Video) 5 Supreme Court Cases About Child Support That Everyone Should Know. No Rumors and anecdotes- FACTS.

LA Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support Payments (Arrears)

The statute of limitations for child support enforcement in Louisiana is 10 years.

LA Statute of Limitations on Determining Paternity

Paternity must be established by the age of majority, which is generally 18 years of age in Louisiana.

Age of Emancipation / Age of Majority in Louisiana

Louisiana’s Civil Code Article 29 specifies the age of majority as 18 years of age.

(Video) Interesting Child support hearing

Louisiana Revised Statue 9:309(C)allows for child support to be paid for a child past the age of majority if the child is unmarried, a full time student in good standing in a secondary school, and dependent on either parent or if the child is a developmentally disabled support may be paid up to age 22 years of age.

Louisiana Guidelines for Setting Child Support Payments

Louisiana child support guidelines are based on the number of children, the combined adjusted monthly net income of both parents, child care costs, extraordinary medical expenses, and a number of other factors.

If the court finds that there are special circumstances such as the child or children having additional or exceptional needs that require additional support, the payment amount may be greater than the basic guidelines specify.

(Video) Lawsuit Against Child Support (Get Them Out Of Your Life)

Custody and Visitation Issues

Child support and visitation rights are separate issues. The court determines both and will usually order the non-custodial parent to pay support and the custodial parent to make the child available for visits.

The custodial parent has a duty to obey the court order for visitation, even if the non-custodial parent cannot or will not pay child support. The court can enforce its orders against either parent.


How does child support enforcement work in Louisiana? ›

The court can take various enforcement actions against a parent who fails to pay child support. These may include wage garnishment, interception of tax refunds, suspension of driver's license, passport denial, and even jail time.

How much do you have to owe in child support to go to jail in Louisiana? ›

(5) The penalty for failure to pay a legal child support obligation when the amount of the arrearage is more than fifteen thousand dollars and the obligation has been outstanding for at least one year shall be a fine of not more than twenty-five hundred dollars, or imprisonment with or without hard labor for not more ...

How do I get out of paying child support in Louisiana? ›

Louisiana child support laws provide three ways to get emancipated, one, is through marriage, two, via court hearing, and, three, by an 'authentic act'.

Can child support arrears be forgiven in Louisiana? ›

Child support back pay cannot be totally forgiven or waived, but there are a few situations that can help you handle it. Double-check the amount the court states you are in arrears. You can always ask the court to recalculate this amount to make sure it is correct.

Is the statute of limitations for child support enforcement in Louisiana 10 years? ›

Louisiana has a 10-year statute of limitations for collecting child support arrears, and the law includes provisions for extending child support judgments, effectively breathing new life into them, before the 10-year period expires.

What is the statute of limitations on back child support in Louisiana? ›

LA Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support Payments (Arrears) The statute of limitations for child support enforcement in Louisiana is 10 years.


1. Louisiana Child support issues
(Wes Bailey Attorney at Law, LLC)
2. Child Support - Louisiana REENTRY Child Support Panel
(JAC Louisiana)
3. Louisiana Child Support Calculator | LA Child Support Calculator
4. How Child Support Violates Constitutional Rights - Truth Bomb 7 part 1
(Fix Family Courts Channel)
5. #childsupport #pro-men I beat the Child Support system, and I want to help you too
(Larry Legend Speaks)
6. The CHILD SUPPORT System is BROKEN! #childsupportisbroken #childsupport2021 #childsupport
(The Lead Attorney)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Rob Wisoky

Last Updated: 03/06/2023

Views: 5241

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (48 voted)

Reviews: 87% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Rob Wisoky

Birthday: 1994-09-30

Address: 5789 Michel Vista, West Domenic, OR 80464-9452

Phone: +97313824072371

Job: Education Orchestrator

Hobby: Lockpicking, Crocheting, Baton twirling, Video gaming, Jogging, Whittling, Model building

Introduction: My name is Rob Wisoky, I am a smiling, helpful, encouraging, zealous, energetic, faithful, fantastic person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.